Reverse Tao Flowers and Triangles

15 12 2012

Reverse.Tao.6

After making a custom-order bracelet (see previous post), I dug through my supply kit and found some left-over 18-gauge, silver-plated wire. As always, I also had a lot of 20 guage wire, which is my most common gauge wire. Because I had just completed a byzantine bracelet, I didn’t want to make anything in byzantine. What to do?

Making Reverse Tao Flowers

I have a computer file folder I call my “Stuff to do when I get a chance” folder.  The Reverse Tao Flower pattern is in that folder, and I had a chance.

The Reverse Tao Flower features 6 “blossoms” locked together. It isn’t a hard weave, though the gauge and inner diameter have to be fairly precise. See the image above for the Reverse Tao Flower.

The rings are looser than I like (and I like tight weaves), so I’ll probably experiment with smaller ring diameters…when I get a chance.

After making a few of these, I started thinking about how to modify the weave. I flipped every other ring from vertical to horizonatal and wove them in as orbital rings. The result was fairly interesting. For lack of a better name, I’m calling these Reverse Tao Triangles (another name may exist, but I haven’t seen it). See the images below.

Making Reverse Tao Triangles

I made 6 of these, in two sizes. First, I made 3 smaller triangles with the following specs, using rings left over from previous projects.

  • 6.0 mm inner diameter
  • 20 gauge wire (0.81 mm).
  • 7.4 AR (actually, 7.41)
  • 13/16 inch at widest point (just over 3/4 inch)

Then I used up my 18 gauge wire while making rings for larger Reverse Tao Triangles.

  • 7.5 mm inner diameter
  • 18 gauge (1.02 mm)
  • 7.4 AR (actually, 7.35)
  • 15/16 inch at widest point (just under one inch)
Reverse Tao Flowers in 2 sizes

Reverse Tao Triangles in 2 sizes

The Reverse Tao Triangles in the larger size are quite a bit more sturdy and tighter than the smaller triangles. They won’t sag or lose shape when hanging, and the side rings will stick straight out in a nicer pattern. The smaller triangles also look quite nice when hanging, but the outermost rings may fold forward or back a little, and the piece sags slightly (most noticeable under a magnifier, but I’m picky like that).

I think the smaller Reverse Tao Triangles may make nice earrings. The larger ones might work as a small pendant on a leather cord or maybe as a focal point for a chainmaille choker.

I may make more of these, even larger. If I use 16 gauge wire (1.29 mm), the inner diameter of the rings will be 9.5 mm. These specs will give an aspect ratio of 7.36, which is almost exactly the same as the 18 gauge, 7.5 mm rings.

Technical Details for the Reverse Tao Triangle

For those who want to make this pattern, here is a summary of the details.

First, this pattern takes 19 rings. I start with 9 closed rings and 12 open rings, same as for the Reverse Tao Flowers. Sample ring details are as follows.

  • 20 gauge wire, 6.0 mm inner diameter (7.41 aspect ratio)
  • 18 gauge wire, 7.5 mm inner diameter (7.35 aspect ratio)
  • 16 gauge wire, 9.5 mm inner diameter (7.36 aspect ratio)
  • 14 gauge wire, 12 mm inner diameter (7.36 aspect ratio)

The best range seems to be an aspect ratio of 7.4 (which is slightly floppy) to 7.35 (which is about as tight as possible). Anything smaller won’t work, and anything bigger will begin to sag and distort noticeably.

Reverse Tao Pendant

Reverse Tao Triangle Pendant

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

