Aspect Ratio Calculator Practical Example

27 12 2012

In case you’re wondering about my chainmaille aspect ratio calculator, trying to determine whether or not it will be useful to you, here is a practical example of how I used it this morning. (You can view and download the aspect ratio calculator on this page.)

The Problem

I want to make a Tryzantine chain bracelet. The last time I made one was several years ago, and I couldn’t remember what wire gauge and ring inner diameter to use. Unfortunately, that was before I started recording all my favorite ring details for various chainmaille weaves.

I found a tutorial online with a picture of a well-made chain. (Sometimes, chainmaille tutorials produce ugly chains that are way too loose and floppy.) The description said the rings were 1/4 inch inner diameter and 18 gauge wire. The tryzantine aspect ratio was not indicated.

Also, I use millimeters for all my wires and rings because decimals are easier to use than fractions (e.g., 9/36 inches vs. 6.35 mm) and because millimeters are more accurate than inches (1 inch vs. 25.4 mm). As a result, the details provided didn’t work well for me.

The Solution

As I always do when starting a new project or modifying a previous weave, I opened my aspect ratio calculator. Here are the steps I used to figure out what rings I need to make for the Tryzantine bracelet.

Step One: Using the aspect ratio calculator, I first found that 1/4 inch is 6.35 millimeters.

unitconversion

Step Two: Then I used the reference chart on the calculator to discover that 18 gauge wire is 1.02 mm. (Ok, I had that memorized already, but I’m walking through all the steps for the sake of demonstration.)

gaugemm

Step Three: Next, I calculated the aspect ratio for the sample weave, using the dimensions in millimeters. With an inner diameter of 6.35 mm and wire gauge of 1.02 mm, I found that the aspect ratio for tryzantine (based on the tutorial) was 6.2. With an aspect ratio of 6.2, I could make a weave that looks as nice as the one in the tutorial.

findingAR

Then I ran into a problem. I can’t make rings with an inner diameter of 6.35 millimeters (or 1/4 inch). I don’t have a mandrel for that size! My mandrels only come in 0.5 mm sizes. What to do?

Step Four: Again, I turned to the aspect ratio calculator. I entered the 6.2 aspect ratio, changed the wire gauge to 0.81 mm (20 gauge wire, based on the chart above), and found that I needed 5.02 mm inner diameter rings. Well, 5.02 mm is almost exactly the same as 5.0 mm, and these rings I can make.

changinggauge

Problem Solved!

The aspect ratio calculator helped me figure out what I need to make a tryzantine chainmaille bracelet as nice as the one in the tutorial…which is why I made the calculator.

  • Original: 1/4 inch inner diameter, 18 gauge rings
  • New details: 5.0 mm inner diameter, 20 gauge rings

I’ll post pictures of the final bracelet once I finish it.

UPDATE

When I began making the tryzantine chain with the 6.2 aspect ratio, I quickly discovered that the weave was WAY too loose. I found another tutorial that suggested an aspect ratio of 5.5, using 18 gauge wire (1.02 mm) and 5.5 mm inner diameter rings.(These specifications actually create an aspect ratio of 5.6.) I didn’t have any 18 gauge, 5.5 mm rings. Using the aspect ratio calculator, I learned I can use 20 gauge, 4.5 mm rings for the same aspect ratio, and I did have those rings. Again, problem solved!

I made a couple of inches with the 5.5 aspect ratio, and the chain looks like it should. Because I was satisfied with the chain specifications, I recorded them on the calculator where there’s a place for recording weaves.

TryzSpecs

Actions

Information

One response

19 02 2016
Christopher Witt

I’m totally new to this whole thing. I’ve found places that have suggestions on gauge, Id, and ar but most of the information is off. Usually waaaay to loose. Or, when I look online their gauge and id may exist but not in the ar. Wtf, why is that? And, let’s say I find a combination I’m pleased with…..how do I apply that to a different gauge, id and so forth? Example, 16 gauge, 3/16 (I should know what that is in mm). What size 20 gauge is comparable and have the same aspect ratio, does that ar even change or should change?????

Leave a Reply

