Half Persian 4 in 1 Starter

28 01 2013

I plan to make a few bracelets, maybe even a necklace, using the Half Persian 4 in 1 chainmaille weave. It’s a great weave. The weave, itself, is dense and intricate, and it offers a lot of design options. It also is wider than tall, so it lays very nicely when worn. Here is a close-up image of the pattern.

Detail of the Half Persian 4 in 1 chainmaille weave

Detail of the Half Persian 4 in 1 chainmaille weave

However, it is challenging to start. The rings have to be carefully positioned, and the weave is not stable for about the first half inch. This means that if you’re not careful, you will end up with a mess that is difficult to straighten out. (I know from experience that this is true. I was using 4.5 mm rings, which are pretty small, and I had to restart the weave several times.)

Most tutorials for the Half Persian 4 in 1 recommend keeping a piece as a starter. New chain is created as a continuation of the starter, and once the new chain is a few inches long and will be stable by itself, the starter is removed. This is good advice.

I made my starter last night. It’s not pretty. I purposely filed the color off some of the first rings so I could keep track of their position, and the closures aren’t as accurate as I would like for a finished piece. This doesn’t matter, though, as no one will ever buy the starter. Any chain I build using this starter will be up to my high standards.

Half Persian 4 in 1 Starter details:

Half Persian 4 in 1 requires an aspect ratio of 5 or greater. Here are the technical details of my starter:

  • Length: 2 inches, which is long enough to be stable and hold comfortably
  • Wire gauge: 20 gauge wire (0.81 mm)
  • Inner diameter: 4.5 mm
  • Aspect Ratio: 5.55 (4.5 / 0.81 = 5.55)

I may also make a starter with 18 gauge (1.02 mm), 5.5 mm inner diameter rings, for an aspect ratio of 5.4.

And here are three images of the starter. Once I create a chain from the starter, I’ll create a new post with pictures. You can see how I have started it below using brass and silver-plated wire.

UPDATE:

You can see the finished bracelet here: Silver and Gold Half Persian Bracelet

Half Persian 4 in 1 starter, top view

Half Persian 4 in 1 starter, top view

Half Persian 4 in 1 starter, side view

Half Persian 4 in 1 starter, side view

Adding the "real" chain to the starter

Adding the “real” chain to the starter

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

