The Beautiful Rondo a la Byzantine Bracelet

9 02 2013
The Rondo a la Byzantine--the most beautiful bracelet I make

The Rondo a la Byzantine–the most beautiful bracelet I make

I have made several chainmaille bracelets with the Rondo a la Byzantine design, in both sterling silver and silver plate. This design continues to be my absolute favorite for sheer beauty. If you have read my posts about my other jewelry, you will realize that I love all the jewelry I make–because I only make jewelry I love. This bracelet, though, is the top.

This all sterling silver bracelet is 0.75 inches wide, 7.25 inches long, with a toggle clasp. I have also made the Rondo a la Byzantine with a tube clasp, but I think I like this better with the toggle clasp. I find toggle clasps easier to work with one hand. (The full persian bracelet I wear has a toggle clasp, too.) However, if you want this bracelet with a tube clasp or lobster claw clasp, just ask.

What is the Rondo a la Byzantine chainmaille weave?  This design combines two weaves, actually. The center of the design is made from individual Byzantine chainmaille units connected by single rings. The outside weave is helm weave, which holds the Byzantine units in place and give the bracelet a lacy look.

My slight modification to the design. Few people make this design because it’s a bit complicated: it takes more skill than many other weaves, and it certainly takes longer. The center byzantine unit typically has 3 rings in the center, but I only used 2 rings. I think it has a more open, more lacy, and more refined look with only 2 rings. The bracelet is not as dense nor as stiff, but the overall look is better.

After I completed this bracelet last night, I looked at it and admired it. Then I tumble polished it for a 1/2 hour, and when it was done, I said, “Wow.” This morning, I took it to the back porch to take pictures in the sun. When I saw it in natural light, I said, “Wow” again.

With 1.88 ounces of sterling silver, you can definately feel this bracelet on your wrist, but it’s not uncomfortable because the weight is distributed across the width. In short, you will know that you have something beautiful on your wrist…and your friends will know it, too!

The one that got away. I gave one of these bracelets as a gift to a colleague who was retiring. We had dinner together one night, and she was wearing it. I asked her how she liked it, and she said that she  loved wearing it, that it was so beautiful. I will admit that it looked really nice on her.

Details:

Length: 7.25 inches
Width: 0.75 inches
Clasp: toggle
Weave: Rondo a la Byzantine
Materials: All sterling silver (0.925 silver)
Status: Available on Etsy, $275

Product ID: 130209-A

For those who want the technical details….
18 gauge wire (1.02 mm), 4mm & 6mm inner diameter rings

Click for larger images

Full length view of this sterling silver chainmaille bracelet

Full length view of this sterling silver chainmaille bracelet

Detail / close-up view of the Rondo a la Byzantine bracelet

Detail / close-up view of the Rondo a la Byzantine bracelet

Drape this bracelet on your wrist!

Drape this bracelet on your wrist!

Side view of this sterling silver chainmaille bracelet...See that shine!

Side view of this sterling silver chainmaille bracelet…See that shine!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

