Man’s All-Copper Box Chain Bracelet

17 02 2013

Cpr.Box.5

Man’s Copper Chainmaille Bracelet

This is the first time I have worked with all copper chain, and I really like the way it looks. It’s . . . manly.

The chain is made in the Box Chain chainmaille weave. The box chain chainmaille weave is an attractive, yet sturdy, weave. It’s  little wider than tall, so it rests comfortably on a wrist. It’s also fairly heavy because it has a dense pattern of rings, meaning a lot of rings per inch with little open space.

One interesting characteristic of the box chain weave is the way the rings overlap on opposite sides. On the other hand, under normal wear, the overlapping reverses itself. This is a bit hard to explain, but I’ll try. Let’s label the four sides A, B, C, and D. In the image above, sides A and C overlap sides B and D (A and C are on the outside; B and D are on the inside). When worn, sides A and C may slip inside of B and D. This occurs because the weave has to be flexible enough to move and flow around the wrist, and it happens beginning at the chain ends. Some people like this characteristic because it adds additional design to the chain. Some people don’t like it. If you, like me, don’t prefer the rings to reverse their pattern, “wiggling” the chain through your fingers easily pushes the rings back into place.

I made this chainmaille bracelet as a custom order. This man’s bracelet features a lobster claw-type clasp. Normally, I use toggle clasps for all bracelets because I find them the easier than lobster claws to work with one hand. But one major advantage of hand-made, artisan jewelry is that you can get exactly what you want, and this buyer wanted a lobster claw clasp.

The buyer had a chance to handle the bracelet when it was about 1/2 finished, and he was pretty excited. I was, too! When I finished the bracelet last night, I thought it looked great. Then I polished it in my tumbler for about 45 minutes. The result was fantastic.

In fact, I liked it so much that I may make another. I should have just enough raw wire to make a second copper chainmaille bracelet.

Want one? Order it on Etsy, $60

Product ID: 130217-A

Copper Chainmaille Bracelet on my wrist

Copper Chainmaille Bracelet on my wrist

Looks ggod even in the shade!

Looks good even in the shade!

Long view of the copper bracelet

Long view of the copper bracelet

Long view from the other end, showing the clasp

Long view from the other end, showing the clasp

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

