Current List of Chainmaille Weaves

18 08 2013

I was checking out my gallery today, and I realized that I have done 17 different weaves, not including some variations of Japanese-style chain.

Current List of Weaves

Most, but not all, of these have examples in the gallery. Weaves not in the gallery are marked with an X.

  • Box chain
  • Butterflies
  • Byzantine (with 4 or 5 variations)
  • Candy Cane Cord
  • Celtic Star
  • Dragonscale / Mermaid
  • Full Persian
  • Half Persian 3-1
  • Helm Weave (X)
  • Jens Pind Linkage (JPL)
  • Mobius
  • Rondo a la Byzantine
  • Spiral Weave (X)
  • Tao Flowers
  • Trizantine (X)
  • Turkish Round
  • Viper Basket

What’s Next

I’d like to learn elf weave in bracelet fashion (not sheet), Great Southern Gathering (GSC), and a few others that I think look really neat. In the meantime, however, I will keep exploring options for the above weaves and new ways to combine them. For example, I would like to make full Persian hearts, and I’m thinking about how to combine either full or half Persian with dragonscale, which I think would be really neat.

I’m also working on going “smaller” – smaller wire diameter, smaller ring diameter. Already, I’m making chains using rings that are only 2.5 mm diameter, and I really like the way they look.

Finally, I will use more sterling silver and gold-filled wire, less copper-based, plated wires.

Good times ahead!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

